Assuming the Identity of “Traveler”

– Christina –

It’s been two weeks since I said goodbye to everyone at work and embarked on my newest adventure in life. It’s certainly strange not to be tied to a job, to an identity. It took me a full week and a half before I was no longer tied to my phone and email. It will take me a lot longer to lose the identity of “Coastie” and adopt the new identity of “Traveler”.

I decided to launch into the new identity with both feet, starting on a five day trip to the middle-of-nowhere Canada, beginning within 48 hours of walking out of MSU Portland for the last time. After returning from Canada, I had just enough time to throw in a load of laundry and catch some sleep before heading off to the airport to visit my sister in Del Rio, TX.

DSC_0241

I stayed in Del Rio for almost a week, then took a plane into Denver, where I assisted with teaching motorcycle training for the Army. The training went well, and the students learned quite a bit. Two days were spent on the range, and three days (and one night) were spent on the street where the students realized that what they thought they knew… they didn’t actually do. I watched students go over the yellow line in a curve, be drawn in by faster riders in front of them, and witnessed two crashes – one resulting in a trip via ambulance to the emergency room. The realities of motorcycling struck home to all of us that week.

It’s just incredible how a moment of inattention can lead to such drastic consequences. Each fall is unique – it can look terrible with bike pieces flying all over the place and the rider stands up and walks away with hardly a scratch. Or the fall can be a simple low-side at slow speed, and the rider ends up in intensive care.

IMG_6824

Following Denver, I decided to take a trip of my dreams – traveling across the US with no time schedule. I would stop wherever and whenever I pleased. I would figure out my bike kit, and see how many clothes I actually used, how many books I would read, and what items I needed but didn’t have. I’ve realized in the last few days that I can happily exist with very little, and that tiny little luxuries (like my ENO Twilights string) make me exceedingly happy.

I’ve met quite the variety of people along the way, and I need to learn how to stop, relax, and talk to them. So often I’m in a hurry, racing to get back on the bike to make the next town before my gas tank runs dry, or beating the sun to a campsite.

More later… I have more miles I need to ride!!!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.